X
× As a public health precaution due to COVID-19, all Smithsonian museums are temporarily closed. We are not announcing a reopening date at this time and will provide updates on our website and social media.

Events

See What's Happening at the Zoo
Share this page:

Zoo Temporarily Closed

As a public health precaution due to COVID-19, all Smithsonian museums are temporarily closed. We are not announcing a reopening date at this time and will provide updates on our website and social media.

As a public health precaution due to COVID-19, some events have been modified or canceled. See below for more information about specific events.

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 to Friday, April 30, 2021

The Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute is celebrating Earth Day all month long!

Sunday, May 2, 2021

Celebrate the beauty and importance of family diversity with virtual family-focused activities.

Past Events

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Get an update on giant panda cub Xiao Qi Ji and hear about his birth in this streaming program hosted by Smithsonian Associates, featuring staff scientist Pierre Comizzoli and assistant curator for... more

Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Spend some quality time with Xiao Qi Ji in the first FREE panda cub livestream event broadcasting on Wednesday, Jan. 27, from 1-1:15 p.m. ET.

Fridays & Saturdays | Nov. 27 through Dec. 19

The 24-foot ZooLights Express truck, festively decorated with light displays and featuring “Panda Claws,” will hit the road and visit one Washington, D.C., ward each Friday and Saturday night from 6-... more

Friday, October 2, 2020

SBCI's annual festival is going virtual this year. Watch videos about conservation, and join live Q&As with researchers and scientists Friday, Oct. 2.

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month at ZooFiesta. This free, family event includes animal feedings, arts and crafts, and live music.

Saturday, August 25, 2018

Celebrate Enrichment Day at the Smithsonian's National Zoo on Saturday, Aug. 25! Zoo visitors will have the opportunity to participate in training and enrichment activities, attend demonstrations and... more