X
× Entry passes are now required to visit the Zoo. Please review the new COVID-19 safety policies and exhibit closures before booking your trip.

Events

See What's Happening at the Zoo
Share this page:
As a public health precaution, the Smithsonian is postponing or canceling all private events through Jan. 2, 2021. We appreciate your understanding.

Upcoming Events

Friday, October 2, 2020

SBCI's annual festival is going virtual this year with prerecorded videos and live Q&As with researchers and scientists.

Friday, October 9, 2020

New date! This year, Brew at the Zoo will take place in cooler weather—on Friday, Oct. 9. Stay tuned for more information on the event and ticket sale dates.

Saturday, October 24, 2020 to Sunday, October 25, 2020

Start your engines and prepare for some spooky fun at Boo Drive Thru, sponsored by Mars Wrigley, a special edition of the beloved children's trick-or-treating event.

Friday, October 30, 2020

A dark carnival is approaching ... and will arrive for Friends of the National Zoo's annual adults-only Halloween party.

Friday, November 27, 2020 to Friday, January 1, 2021

Join the thousands of visitors who make ZooLights a part of their annual holiday tradition. This free event includes live music and tasty winter treats.

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Friends of the National Zoo's hoppiest holiday event, BrewLights, is back for another year of craft beer and microbrew tastings.

Zoo Sleepovers

Past Events

Sept. 7, 8 and 14, 15

Get an up-close look at exotic birds as they soar overhead and exhibit natural behaviors in this FREE, limited-run show.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Mark your calendars for Friends of the National Zoo’s third annual The Fast & the Fierce 5K, sponsored by Aegis Project Controls.

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Join a curator of the Zoo’s Small Mammal House as he describes the process of building a new exhibit while the mole-rats were busy building their new colony.

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

On July 23 from 1-2 p.m. attend a free, outdoor concert at the Zoo featuring student musicians from the National Symphony Orchestra’s Summer Music Institute.

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Celebrate Solstice Saturday with a free dance party at the Zoo from 6-10 p.m. with music, kid-friendly activities and sweet treats. Don't miss a special screening of "Jurassic Park" for just $5!

Saturday, June 1, 2019 to Monday, September 2, 2019

Meet and interact with larger-than-life dinosaurs in Erth's Dinosaur Zoo Live theater production. Buy Tickets Now

June 1 - Sept. 2
Tuesday-Sunday
11:45 a.m., 2:45 p.m., 5:30 p.m.

Pandas are on the big screen in “PANDAS,” a breathtaking documentary adventure for the whole family. Playing June 1 to Sept. 2 at the Zoo Theater.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Chelsea Clinton welcomes young readers and their families at the Zoo for a special reading and hands-on activities inspired by the endangered animals in her new book.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Chelsea Clinton comes to the Smithsonian's National Zoo to discuss her new book, Don't Let Them Disappear.

Sunday, March 17, 2019

The whooping crane has the distinction of being North America's tallest bird and, sadly, also one of its rarest. Learn how groups are working together to save these birds.

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute invites you to a film screening at the Zoo's Visitor Center auditorium as part of the 2019 Environmental Film Festival in the Nation's... more

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Celebrate the David M. Rubenstein Family Giant Panda Habitat's new, colorful and interactive exhibit, on Feb. 23, 2019.