X
× Entry passes are now required to visit the Zoo. Please review the new COVID-19 safety policies and exhibit closures before booking your trip.

Events

See What's Happening at the Zoo
Share this page:
As a public health precaution, the Smithsonian is postponing or canceling all private events through Jan. 2, 2021. We appreciate your understanding.

Upcoming Events

Friday, September 25, 2020

Join Friends of the National Zoo as our biggest fundraising event of the year goes online!

Friday, October 2, 2020

SBCI's annual festival is going virtual this year with prerecorded videos and live Q&As with researchers and scientists.

Friday, October 9, 2020

New date! This year, Brew at the Zoo will take place in cooler weather—on Friday, Oct. 9. Stay tuned for more information on the event and ticket sale dates.

Saturday, October 24, 2020 to Sunday, October 25, 2020

Start your engines and prepare for some spooky fun at Boo Drive Thru, sponsored by Mars Wrigley, a special edition of the beloved children's trick-or-treating event.

Friday, October 30, 2020

A dark carnival is approaching ... and will arrive for Friends of the National Zoo's annual adults-only Halloween party.

Friday, November 27, 2020 to Friday, January 1, 2021

Join the thousands of visitors who make ZooLights a part of their annual holiday tradition. This free event includes live music and tasty winter treats.

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Friends of the National Zoo's hoppiest holiday event, BrewLights, is back for another year of craft beer and microbrew tastings.

Zoo Sleepovers

Past Events

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month at ZooFiesta. This free, family event includes animal feedings, arts and crafts, and live music.

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Get ready for the wildest wine tasting in town on Thursday, Sept. 17, at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo. 

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

In 2020, D.C.'s favorite chef-curated restaurant tasting event will be more appetizing than ever.

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Celebrate Wildlife Migration Day at the Zoo on Saturday, May 9. This free event features family-friendly activities, as well as opportunities to talk to scientists who study wildlife migration.

Sunday, May 3, 2020

Celebrate the beauty and importance of family diversity at the Zoo with family-focused activities.

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Friends of the National Zoo members get early access to the Zoo during this free annual event.

Monday, April 13, 2020

This year it's double the fun on April 13, as the Zoo celebrates Earth Optimism on Easter Monday.

Friday, February 14, 2020

It's a Valentine's Day ritual. Come to Woo at the Zoo on Friday, Feb. 14, from 7-10 p.m. to learn all about dating, mating and procreating (in the animal kingdom, at least). 

Friday, December 6, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019

GRUMP, the alternative art and crafts holiday show, is coming to ZooLights on Dec. 6, 7 and 8 from 5-9 p.m.

Dec. 4

Animal Discovery Days include special demonstrations, activities and opportunities to learn about wildlife conservation. Celebrate International Cheetah Day on Dec. 4.

Saturday, November 9, 2019 to Monday, November 18, 2019

Bid a fond farewell to giant panda Bei Bei before he begins the next chapter of his life in China.

Sept. 7, 8 and 14, 15

Get an up-close look at exotic birds as they soar overhead and exhibit natural behaviors in this FREE, limited-run show.