X
× EFFECTIVE MONDAY, NOV. 23: As a public health precaution due to COVID-19, all Smithsonian museums will temporarily close. We are not announcing a reopening date at this time and will provide updates on our websites and social media.

Events

See What's Happening at the Zoo
Share this page:

Zoo Temporarily Closed Effective Nov. 23

As a public health precaution due to COVID-19, all Smithsonian museums are temporarily closed effective Monday, Nov. 23, 2020. We are not announcing a reopening date at this time and will provide updates on our websites and social media.

Ticket Holders:

Refunds will be automatically processed for Paid Parking Passes for Nov. 23 and after. Visitors who had reserved timed-entry passes to visit at a future date are being contacted directly.

As a public health precaution due to COVID-19, some events have been modified or canceled. See below for more information about specific events.

Upcoming Events

Fridays & Saturdays | Nov. 27 through Dec. 19

The 24-foot ZooLights Express truck, festively decorated with light displays and featuring “Panda Claws,” will hit the road and visit one Washington, D.C., ward each Friday and Saturday night from 6-... more

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Attend the hoppiest holiday event, BrewLights, featuring craft beer and microbrew tastings.

Past Events

Friday, October 30, 2020

A dark carnival is approaching ... and will arrive for Friends of the National Zoo's annual adults-only Halloween party.

Saturday, October 24, 2020 to Sunday, October 25, 2020

Start your engines and prepare for some spooky fun at Boo Drive Thru, sponsored by Mars Wrigley, a special edition of the beloved children's trick-or-treating event.

Friday, October 9, 2020

New date! This year, Brew at the Zoo will take place in cooler weather—on Friday, Oct. 9. Stay tuned for more information on the event and ticket sale dates.

Friday, October 2, 2020

SBCI's annual festival is going virtual this year. Watch videos about conservation, and join live Q&As with researchers and scientists Friday, Oct. 2.

Friday, September 25, 2020

Join Friends of the National Zoo as our biggest fundraising event of the year goes online!

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month at ZooFiesta. This free, family event includes animal feedings, arts and crafts, and live music.

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Get ready for the wildest wine tasting in town on Thursday, Sept. 17, at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo. 

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

In 2020, D.C.'s favorite chef-curated restaurant tasting event will be more appetizing than ever.

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Celebrate Wildlife Migration Day at the Zoo on Saturday, May 9. This free event features family-friendly activities, as well as opportunities to talk to scientists who study wildlife migration.

Sunday, May 3, 2020

Celebrate the beauty and importance of family diversity at the Zoo with family-focused activities.

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Friends of the National Zoo members get early access to the Zoo during this free annual event.

Monday, April 13, 2020

This year it's double the fun on April 13, as the Zoo celebrates Earth Optimism on Easter Monday.