X
× All Smithsonian museums, including the National Zoo, continue to be closed to support the effort to contain the spread of COVID-19. We are not announcing a re-opening date at this time and will continue to provide updates on social media and on our website.

Events

See What's Happening at the Zoo
Share this page:
As a public health precaution, the Smithsonian is postponing or canceling all public events, programming and gatherings through June 1, 2020. We appreciate your understanding.

Upcoming Events

Monday, April 13, 2020

This year it's double the fun on April 13, as the Zoo celebrates Earth Optimism on Easter Monday.

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Friends of the National Zoo members get early access to the Zoo during this free annual event.

Sunday, May 3, 2020

Celebrate the beauty and importance of family diversity at the Zoo with family-focused activities.

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Celebrate Wildlife Migration Day at the Zoo on Saturday, May 9. This free event features family-friendly activities, as well as opportunities to talk to scientists who study wildlife migration.

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

In 2020, D.C.'s favorite chef-curated restaurant tasting event will be more appetizing than ever.

Thursday, July 16, 2020

On July 16, enjoy great times and great brews with animal encounters, live music, fare from popular food trucks and unlimited beer tastings.

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Get ready for the wildest wine tasting in town on Thursday, Sept. 17, at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo. 

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month at ZooFiesta. This free, family event includes animal feedings, arts and crafts, and live music.

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Attend the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute's annual festival — the one day a year that part of this unique research facility is open to the public!

Friday, October 23, 2020 to Sunday, October 25, 2020

Kids can go trick-or-treating at the wildest spot in town during Boo at the Zoo. Celebrate Halloween early with treat stations, animal demonstrations and more.

Friday, October 30, 2020

A dark carnival is approaching ... and will arrive for Friends of the National Zoo's annual adults-only Halloween party.

Friday, November 27, 2020 to Friday, January 1, 2021

Join the thousands of visitors who make ZooLights a part of their annual holiday tradition. This free event includes live music and tasty winter treats.

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Friends of the National Zoo's hoppiest holiday event, BrewLights, is back for another year of craft beer and microbrew tastings.

Zoo Sleepovers

Bring your troop for a wild night they won't soon forget! Where else can you fall asleep to the sounds of the wolves howling or awaken to the barks of the sea lions at play?

Come spend the night at the Zoo! Snore & Roar overnights are available from June to September. 

Spend a wild night at the Zoo this summer! Snore & Roar sleepovers are available from June to September.

Past Events

Friday, February 14, 2020

It's a Valentine's Day ritual. Come to Woo at the Zoo on Friday, Feb. 14, from 7-10 p.m. to learn all about dating, mating and procreating (in the animal kingdom, at least). 

Friday, December 6, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019

GRUMP, the alternative art and crafts holiday show, is coming to ZooLights on Dec. 6, 7 and 8 from 5-9 p.m.

Dec. 4

Animal Discovery Days include special demonstrations, activities and opportunities to learn about wildlife conservation. Celebrate International Cheetah Day on Dec. 4.

Saturday, November 9, 2019 to Monday, November 18, 2019

Bid a fond farewell to giant panda Bei Bei before he begins the next chapter of his life in China.

Sept. 7, 8 and 14, 15

Get an up-close look at exotic birds as they soar overhead and exhibit natural behaviors in this FREE, limited-run show.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Mark your calendars for Friends of the National Zoo’s third annual The Fast & the Fierce 5K, sponsored by Aegis Project Controls.

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Join a curator of the Zoo’s Small Mammal House as he describes the process of building a new exhibit while the mole-rats were busy building their new colony.

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

On July 23 from 1-2 p.m. attend a free, outdoor concert at the Zoo featuring student musicians from the National Symphony Orchestra’s Summer Music Institute.

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Celebrate Solstice Saturday with a free dance party at the Zoo from 6-10 p.m. with music, kid-friendly activities and sweet treats. Don't miss a special screening of "Jurassic Park" for just $5!

Saturday, June 1, 2019 to Monday, September 2, 2019

Meet and interact with larger-than-life dinosaurs in Erth's Dinosaur Zoo Live theater production. Buy Tickets Now

June 1 - Sept. 2
Tuesday-Sunday
11:45 a.m., 2:45 p.m., 5:30 p.m.

Pandas are on the big screen in “PANDAS,” a breathtaking documentary adventure for the whole family. Playing June 1 to Sept. 2 at the Zoo Theater.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Chelsea Clinton welcomes young readers and their families at the Zoo for a special reading and hands-on activities inspired by the endangered animals in her new book.